• AFCON prize money for winners, runner-ups, others

    Afcon prize money for winners runner-ups others - nigeria newspapers online
    • 2Minutes – Read
    • 216Words (Approximately)

    The Confederation of African Football has revealed the financial rewards for participating nations at the ongoing 2023 Africa Cup of Nations tournament (AFCON prize money) in Cote d’Ivoire.

    The winner of AFCON 2023 will take home  $7 million for lifting the trophy. The runners-up will pocket $4 million. The two losing semi-finalists (two teams) will each receive $2.5 million.

    Further down the ranks, the losing quarter-finalists (four teams) will each receive $1.3 million. The eight teams knocked out in the round of 16 will get $800,000 each.

    Furthermore, two teams that finished third in their group but fail to advance wilk receive $700,000. The six teams that finished last in their groups got $500,000 each.

    The AFCON 2023 prize money, as revealed by CAF

    Winner: $7,000,000

    Runners-up: $4,000,000

    Semi-finalists (two teams): $2,500,000 x 2

    Quarter-finalists (four  teams): $1,300,000 x 4

    Round of 16 (eight teams): $800,000 x 8

    The teams ranked 3rd in their group but fail to qualify for the round of 16 (2 teams): $700,000 x 2

    The teams ranked 4th in each of the six groups (six teams): $500 000 x 6

    As the tournament begins the quarterfinals stage on Friday (today), eight teams are playing, seeking to advance to the next round (semifinals).

    At the Felix Houphouët-Boigny Stadium in Abidjan on Friday (today), Nigeria will face old foes, Angola, as they continue their quest for their fourth Africa Cup of Nations title, which they last won in 2013.

    See More Stories Like This