• APC’s Laguda wins Surulere constituency bye-election

    Apcs laguda wins surulere constituency bye-election - nigeria newspapers online
    • 1Minute
    • 152Words (Approximately)

    The candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Kayode Laguda, has emerged victorious in the Saturday bye-election conducted in Surulere Federal Constituency 1 of Lagos State.

    The Independent National Electoral Commission announced that there were a total of 11,943 votes cast, 11,801 valid votes, and 138 rejected votes.

    Out of the total votes cast, Laguda obtained a total of 11,203 votes to defeat his closest opponent, Jerry Afemikhe of the Peoples Democratic Party who garnered 278 votes.

    The candidate of the Labour Party, Adeola Adebanjo, also had a total of 240 votes.

    According to the INEC Returning Officer for the election in the constituency, Prof Adebayo Oladipo, Laguda won in all the polling units in the constituency.

    The INEC Returning Officer for the election declared the results at the collation centre on Saturday.

    He said, “I hereby certify that Fuad Kayode Laguda of APC,having satisfied the requirements of the law, is hereby declared winner and is returned elected.”



    See More Stories Like This