• West, North African countries top winners list since 1957

    West north african countries top winners list since 1957 - nigeria newspapers online
    • 2Minutes – Read
    • 354Words (Approximately)

    With less than five days to kick-off of Africa’s biggest football event, the TotalEnergies CAF Africa Cup of Nations hosted by Cote d’Ivoire begins Friday.

    PUNCH Online reports that countries from the West and North African regions of the continent top winners list for AFCON, a tournament that began in 1957 with three countries.

    According to CAF Online, “CAF is the governing body of African football and was founded in 1957. The founding members are Egypt, Sudan, Ethiopia and South Africa. The secretariat is based in Egypt with a membership of 54 Member Associations.”

    Our correspondent reports that countries from West Africa have won the AFCON 17 times while their counterparts from North Africa have won it 12 times.

    Central African countries have won it 6 times and only Ethiopia has won it once from the eastern part of the continent.

    24 qualified teams are competing for the trophy in the AFCON 2023.

    PUNCH Online reports that “the 24 teams are Angola, Algeria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, DR Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, Guinea, Mali, Morocco, Mauritania, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Tunisia and Zambia.”

    PUNCH Online also reports that countries seven countries share 25 of the trophies.

    Egypt is the leading winner with 7 trophies. Cameroon has five trophies. Ghana has four and Nigeria, three.

    The AFCON 2023 host nation, Cote d’Ivoire alongside Algeria has won it twice each.

    Other nations that have won it once included: Senegal, Tunisia, Morocco, Sudan, Zambia, South Africa Ethiopia, PR Congo and DR Congo (Zaire).

    Also, all editions have been won by 16 countries.

    The opening match will be played in Abidjan on Saturday, January 13, 2023, between the host and Guinea Bissau.

    Here is a list of winners since the tournament’s inception in 1957:

    Senegal (2022), Algeria (2019), Cameroon (2017), Ivory Coast (2015), Nigeria (2013), Zambia (2012), Egypt (2010, 2008, 2006), Tunisia (2004) and Cameroon (2002 and 2000).

    Also, Egypt (1998), South Africa (1996), Nigeria (1994), Ivory Coast (1992), Algeria (1990), Cameroon (1988), Egypt (1986), Cameroon (1984), Ghana (1982) and Nigeria (1980).

    Others include Ghana (1978), Morocco (1976), DR Congo (1974), Zaire (1974), PR Congo (1972), Sudan (1970), Congo-Kinshasa (1968), Ghana (1965 and 1963), Ethiopia (1962), United Arab Republic (1959) and Egypt (1957).

    PUNCH Online reports that the football event will take place in six stadiums in the host nation, Cote d’Ivoire.

    See More Stories Like This